VFX Soldiers Worldwide

I recently came across a few blogs by vfx artists with an informative point of view for Canada, Singapore, and Japan. I encourage you to add them to your reading list to get a pulse of the industry globally.

Part of the reason I started my blog was to give fellow VFX artists an unfiltered view of how things are where I am. I tried talking about the issues at various forums but got shut down pretty quickly.

If you read my mission statement, I mentioned that one of the things we need to do is to have open and free discussion about the issues we face in this industry.

I’ve been committed to making sure that anyone can comment on my blog and say what they want. Whether they be well informed fact-based comments like those by an individual who calls himself/herself Winston Smith, or just plain thoughtful comments like these:

yer still a cunt and likely still unemployed.

LULZ

I can’t answer to the first statement but I can say that I am employed and have entertained offers from 8 companies this year. Oh and Weta, which is great company, is always a phone call away. I guess I never really got used to that one Viva Mexico restaurant in Wellington.

VFX Insider

This is a group blog of vfx artists working in Vancouver. Inspired by vfxsoldier we decided to take a stand and speak out about the great imbalance of power that exists between the employer studios and individual vfx artists. We are tired of keeping quiet while the vfx studios come up with ever more creative payment schemes to reduce their production costs at our expense while openly violating BC labor laws.

Hilscreate

Here is a vfx artist in Singapore who gives some great artistic and business advice for students in the industry there. I wish I had seen this blog earlier. It’s a real eye opener and thoughtful. I love the quote on cynicism:

To all the people watching, I can never ever thank you enough for the kindness to me, I’ll think about it for the rest of my life. All I ask is one thing, and this is.. I’m asking this particularily of young people that watch: Please do not be cynical. I hate cynicism – for the record it’s my least favorite quality, it doesn’t lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen. I’m telling you, amazing things will happen.” – Conan ‘O’Brien

Melon VFX

I always see a link coming from a blog in Japanese that I occasionally use google translate to read. Apparently this is a Japanese artist working in Los Angeles who covers the industry for the folks interested in VFX back in Japan. If you know any vfx artists who know Japanese let them know about this blog.

Happy Holidays and Soldier On.

9 Responses to VFX Soldiers Worldwide

  1. hilscreate says:

    haha….. and flying burrito bros doesn’t really cut the mustard either. The mexician here isn’t great as well.

  2. sneetchy says:

    Don’t let the negative comments stop you! We’re listening to you and it IS making a difference and we completely appreciate you! Keep soldiering on!!
    Happy Holidays!!

  3. an open mind says:

    Your blog is definitely worthwhile and keeps discussion flowing. There will always be some who feel the need to post negative comments but, no doubt, there are many who are learning new perspectives and finding your updates informative.

  4. Winston Smith says:

    Soldier

    In 2010

    Props to you for stirring the pot and naming names. The Resistance has not so much been born as it has been awakened.

    For 2011

    Keep up the good fight. The Resistance will continue to grow.

    More to come…

    W

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by 清水 節 and 映画よろず屋, melon. melon said: VFX業界の様々な裏情報を掲載するブログ:VFX Soldierにて紹介されました。http://bit.ly/gsM6zp […]

  6. Lee Stranahan says:

    Keep up the great work….

  7. freedomfries says:

    Thank you and blessings for the new year. There will always be cunts, but you aren’t one of them!

    Shame about Lucas and Pixar, I knew they took advantage of their cred to negotiate on the low end of the industry’s pay scale, but I didn’t know they had such little integrity…

  8. Shootsy says:

    Why don’t you talk $$ a bit? I’m saying this because I’m confused about the low-ball low-end you point here and there on your blog, from what I could muster people who are skilled and do things like characters anim or lighting for example are in the $100k range, far from being low wages unless you live in Manhattan and then again. As far as Pixar/ILM blame I doubt anyone senior makes less than $100k/year. Sure even a senior comp that makes $20k/month is being screwed in the end, even $20Mil actors are when a movie makes over $500Mil if not a billion. People who worked on Avatar(d) must be feeling like shit when they see it grossed $2,779,551,867…..lol!

    I’m all for getting more from these assholes disguised as WiseGuru/Smartass but the “easiest” way is to become your own boss so you can make more cash. Do you want to screw or get screwed?

    Oh yeah and the mail delivery boy makes $50k/year with benefits.

Leave a Reply

