Hiring An Agent To Negotiate Your Next Contract

This is probably one of the most important posts that I have ever written on the VFX industry. Recently Scott Squires and the VES have offered advice about deal memos.

Here’s a situation I’m sure you are familiar with. At the end of an interview with a facility there is a moment where a hiring manager will bring you into a room and ask:

What is your availability and what is your rate?

What should you say? What if you ask for too high of a rate? What if it’s too low? Do they offer benefits? Do they pay OT? Is it 1099 independent contractor? Here is what I say:

I really appreciate you bringing me in today. I have a rep that handles my contract details.

So What Is An Agent Or Rep?

An agent or rep is usually an attorney who specializes in contract negotiations. This is not someone who is here to sue the company if you don’t get what you want. They are here to work for you and get you a fair deal.

While I’m sure hiring managers are good people, many I have dealt with are usually not competent with contracts. In fact, I’ve had some lie to me and change the terms in contracts that we verbally agreed to. They are hired to represent the company’s best interests and you should have someone that you can hire to represent your best interests.

What Are The Pros?

I’ve found that once I initiate the services of an agent, the agent handles everything from there. I don’t have to talk to the hiring manager anymore and the agent calls me to let me know how the negotiations are going. That alone to me is worth the price for the service.

When you negotiate a contract, you are basically negotiating the terms for a very important part of your life. An agent can bring a level of professionalism to the process and prevent it from becoming personal. I know of some hiring managers and recruiters who prey on getting a potential employee riled up and emotional to bully them into a bad deal.

Secondly, agents in the VFX industry are more common than you think. There are many artists and technical directors that use the same agent, even supervisors. When you have an agent who specializes in negotiating contracts in the VFX industry, many of the old tricks used against artists go out the door. The agent I work with generally has dealt with most VFX facilities and knows what the fair rates and contracts are.

An agent can also negotiate contracts in other countries. I know of artists who have used the same agent to negotiate contracts at major facilities in the UK and Australia etc. The service can also be good for artists coming out of school to make sure they don’t get abused.

What Are The Cons?

Some would say the first con is the price however that depends on who you hire. The agent I work with charges about $250 an hour for the time spent negotiating with the company directly and writing the contract. That’s not bad for me. However I know of other artists who use Digital Artist Agency which takes 10% of your check. I think that’s excessive.

I talked to an artist who was a part of DAA and was pretty happy with their services. He suggested it for artists who expect to work at many 1-3 month gigs. They tend to work with you and ask around to see who is hiring to get you crewed soon.

Another “con” is that an agent can only negotiate with the leverage you have. Your expectations have to be reasonable. If you’re an artist that is trying to get that big raise and have no intentions of going to another company then you are giving the rep very little to work with. I usually start pinging various companies near the end of a show and work with the agent to handle any contract negotiations. As another artist related:

I hook em, and they reel em in.

Some hiring managers can take it personally if you use the services of a rep but then again they take it personally if you ask for anything. If you’ve been keeping up with the recent events, there is no sign by the studios or the facilities that they intend to bring maturity to the industry. Artists need to become better businesspeople first and working with an agent helps do that.

Alex Andrews

Alex Andrews is probably one of the most important people I work with in this industry. What’s remarkable is that like many of her clients, I have never met her. I usually get a job offer and call her to attain her services to hammer out a deal.

Alex started off as a media artist and went back to college to become a lawyer. She worked for Disney Animation’s legal affairs department and eventually became the Director of Legal Affairs. If you were an artist about to be hired at Disney, you mostly likely had to negotiate your contract with her: Now she fights for the users.

You can view her resume and contact info here.

http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=11297841

email: alexandrewslaw at yahoo dot com.

323-449-7814

I’d like to give readers access to a list of agents who have experience negotiating for VFX artists. If you know of any agents that you can recommend let me know and I’ll add them to the list. Feel free to chime in if you use any of their services and your experience.

Digital Artists Agency

Carol Contes

Sean Hogle

Schwartz, Steinsapir, Dohrmann & Sommers LLP

Soldier On.

18 Responses to Hiring An Agent To Negotiate Your Next Contract

  1. occlude says:

    You are right, this was an important post! Using a 3rd party to negotiate a deal for you is a very smart move. I’ve never let an agent negotiate on my behalf, but I do have my lawyer cc’d on all documents that a job asks me to sign, and I do have him go through the motions of making sure everything is by the book. I have wondered if having an agent would result in making more money, or if it would result in people passing on me for jobs…I guess that’s a tough one to answer right? What do you think, has it helped you negotiate better terms/rates, or is it just a safety net to make sure you don’t get screwed?
    I like to throw in my lawyer after I negotiate…kind of a “by the way, if you want me to sign anything, it has to go through my lawyer”. That way I don’t bring it up til the end…

    • VFX Soldier says:

      Thanks. I can definitely say I’ve generally gotten better deals than those who don’t use the services of an agent. Keep in mind Alex tells me no on a lot of occasions. She’ll inform me if the rate I’m asking for is too high etc.

      However as I said before, the simple fact that you can protect yourself from abusive tactics by employers is something that is worth the price alone. Employers would be hesitant to offer jobs with no OT if more artists used agents. It sends a message to the employer: This isn’t a naive artist, be fair and respectful.

      I’ve never had anyone pass me up for a job because I used an agent. Could that happen? Yes, but the way I look at that is if company doesn’t want to negotiate a fair deal they are probably looking to take advantage of someone naive. In fact, I’ve actually passed more companies up for a job because the agent I work with would let me know if they are playing games or if there were other companies making better offers. Again, they have to work with the leverage you have.

  2. Marcus says:

    Very interesting indeed!

  3. Rolling Red says:

    “This is probably one of the most important posts that I have ever written on the VFX industry.”

    Are you kidding me? This your anniversary post that you’ve had us baiting with? – “Get an agent”. ???. Get real vfxsoldier! For all the pro union rhetoric that you put up on your blog, is this what you’re sending us home with? Have you succumbed to the lure of advertising revenue? How much is Alex Andrews kicking you back per contact made?

    I get your drift – third party AND skilled party negotiating for us, be it an agent, a lawyer or a Union is beneficial.

    Honestly though, you have written far better, more informative, more analytically critical posts in the past.
    This is nothing to brag about. Get real. Get honest.

    • VFX Soldier says:

      You can still use an agent even if you are in a union. The union negotiates minimums, the agent negotiates the rest.

      I don’t have any deal with Alex. I approached her and asked if I could let people know about her services.

      How do you suggest I “get real”? I’ve revealed the agent I work with who has helped me personally in my career.

      Would you prefer to go at it alone?

  4. maple leaf EH! says:

    This could get facilities to abide by labor laws.

  5. anon says:

    I would be a little wary of hiring an agent to negotiate rates. HR’s job is to get you as cheap as possible, if you hire an agent to negotiate hard for you and give HR headaches, are they going to be more reluctant to re-hire you later on versus the other guy with similar experience and skills who didn’t bring in a third party to give them the hard sell and a difficult time?

    I’d be wary…

  6. jimmy goodman says:

    wouldn’t it be great if your agent had 2500 clients and could start the negotiations with health insurance, pension, vacation, holiday, sick leave and overtime protection? and have the leverage of knowing that these “asks” are mandatory? that’s what a union contract brings to the equation…..
    jimmy

    • VFX Soldier says:

      Jimmy, I agree with you. It would be great to have a union represent us but how can that be possible when the IA leadership has refused to honor simple requests by artists to speak with the media and/or create a website documenting their health plan?

  7. nha says:

    UK – David Sayeed – Animated People. Not sure how active he is these days but I have used him in the past. He takes his cut from the employer directly.

  8. Hello to every , since I am in fact eager of reading this web site’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It includes nice information.

  9. Excellent site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked about in
    this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  10. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a
    new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a
    formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  11. If some one wishes to be updated with latest technologies then he must be pay a quick visit this site and be up to date every
    day.

  12. Nice post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed!

    Extremely useful info specifically the final section🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  13. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done
    a outstanding job!

  14. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the future and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve read this put up and if I may I want to counsel you few fascinating things or advice.

    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I want to learn more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

