Strength In Numbers

Joshua Bowman tweeted the videos above of some really nice animation shorts symbolizing union strength in numbers.

While the message is superb, it is important to point out that the great animation was actually meant for a bus company in Belgium that was done by a local animation company.

Soldier On.

2 Responses to Strength In Numbers

  1. Paul says:

    Case in point BUT as oppose to these little guys that have the exact same needs constraints roles actions requirements lives etc none of us are the same, with or without family, young or old and the list goes on. They don’t have a choice we do. And as one philosopher said, freedom is when you have no choice.

  2. J says:

    @Paul – all of us need health insurance. All of us need to save for our retirement. All of us need to think about the cost of dental, too.

    There is no way that I, as an individual, can match the level of the health and dental and retirement benefits that 839 artists enjoy right now. I’m paying for my family’s health insurance right now. I have no dental coverage, so I paid $2000 out-of-pocket last year for my family’s dental costs. I max out my Roth IRA, I max out my SEP-IRA, I max out my spouse’s Roth IRA, and I hit the I-Bond savings limit every year. I am also looking into taxable investing.

    Despite these efforts, I fall short of the financial security that every 839 artist takes for granted. Without any thought or effort on their part, 839 artists are automatically covered by top-flight health and dental and two pensions. If they feel like it, they can max out their 401(k)s and Roth IRAs to further bolster their financial security. But they don’t have to think about it too much.

    In contrast, VFX artists are on their own.

Leave a Reply

