Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational

VFX Pioneer Ray Harryhausen passed today at age 92. For a blog that focuses on raising the awareness of so many unknown VFX professionals, its rare to write about specific pioneers in the industry. However if you ask almost anyone in the industry, many will tell you how he influenced them to create movie magic. Mr. Harryhausen stands in his own light by inspiring the inspirational.

Soldier On.

https://twitter.com/virtualbri/status/331825120073089024

https://twitter.com/thirdmonster/status/331882033041256448

14 Responses to Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational

  1. Tom Atkin says:

    Ray Harryhausen was, is and always will be the master of fantasy storytelling whose work has inspired virtually every contemporary fantasy storyteller dotting today’s filmmaking landscape.

    Even more than Ray’s artistic contribution was Ray’s contribution as a person. Rarely, if ever, has a man with so much creativity, influence and respect been so equally humble, gracious and genuinely caring.

    No one, and I repeat… no one will ever fill Ray’s shoes. What a truly special person. One of the greatest honors in my life was to share time with Ray.

    Rest in Peace with your friends on Mt. Olympus.

  2. I’ll never forget Ray’s visit to ILM (San Rafael). He brought with him some of his most iconic models for show and tell and talked about his career. I think all of us sitting in the theater knew how kid-in-the-candy-store privileged we all felt being in the same room as Ray. We were all on the edge of our seats taking in every word he shared with us.

    There are few inspirations in our world these days. I hope todays young artists will study and absorb the masterful works Ray has left us and know that inspiration transcends generations.

  3. jonavark says:

    I read this on my way to a meeting on a doc about Bradbury & Harryhausen. I will never, ever forget the effect his films had on me as a kid. RIP Ray. And thanks for the memories.

  4. Lucinda says:

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really recognize what you are talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice from my web site =). We will have a link exchange agreement among us

  5. Karolina says:

    Gosh, I loved those films but never knew the name of the artist behind them! I still remember the cyclope form “The 7th Voyage of Sinbad” or the fight scene with skeletons from “Jason and the Argonauts”. Isn’t it such a shame that often only after someone great passes that people sit up and notice..

    Talking about young artists learning from the old masters and techniques, I am a SFX enthusiast and an amateur “tinker”. I started playing with doing 6 second Vines (short videos) and wanted to do stop-motion animation, but am a bit lost on best materials to use. I have found this UK supplier not far from me: http://www.ps-composites.com/ – has anyone used them before or can recommend good, inexpensive providers of tools/materials? Many thanks!

  6. Hi! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the great work!

  7. Ted says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  8. この says:

    この

    Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational | VFX Soldier

  9. カラコン 比較

    Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational | VFX Soldier

  10. 教師 says:

    教師

    Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational | VFX Soldier

  11. ドンキホーテ通販 時計

    Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational | VFX Soldier

  12. カラコン 度あり ブラウン

    Ray Harryhausen – Inspiring The Inspirational | VFX Soldier

  13. free burger king printable coupons

  14. free walmart gift cards

Leave a comment